Peabody Awards Win For Broadchurch

has been honoured in the 73rd Annual Peabody Awards which were announced today on CBS This Morning. The Awards, first established in 1941, honour excellence in broadcasting and electronic media, including news, TV and radio programmes and web-based content. The awards are bestowed by the University of Georgia’s Grady School of Journalism and medallions will be presented on 19th May at a ceremony at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York. A TV special covering the awards will also air on Pivot and will feature highlights from the ceremony and interviews with featured winners. This year saw a record breaking 46 recipients, chosen from 1100 entries.

Broadchurch stars David Tennant and Olivia Colman as two mismatched investigators trying to solve the murder of a young boy in a sleepy seaside town. With the resolution of the case drawn out over the full eight episodes, the storyline explored the impact of the tragic event on the small, close community and the individual residents. The drama was created by Chris Chibnall and produced by Kudos TV for ITV. Other cast include Arthur Darvill, David Bradley, Pauline Quirke, Jodie Whittaker and Andrew Buchan. It was broadcast on BBC America from August 2013 and has inspired a US remake, Gracepoint, which is currently shooting in Canada for FOX with David Tennant playing the lead detective once again. 

Other winners of the 2013 Peabody Awards are Breaking Bad (AMC), Orphan Black (BBC America), Borgen (DR1, Denmark) and The Returned (Sundance Channel). 

For more information about Broadchurch and Gracepoint please visit our website. 
Thanks to Cameron Yarde Jr. for the information