BAFTA Television Craft Awards Announced Today

The winners of the BAFTAs for Television Craft in 2014 will take be revealed at a ceremony at The Brewery in East London later tonight. The event will be hosted by Stephen Mangan.
A number of David Tennant's projects received recognition in the shortlists for the Awards this year. Broadchurch is one of the front-runners with a total of five nominations, including Best Writer for Chris Chibnall, Best Director for James Strong and Best Original Music for ├ôlafur Arnalds.
The tense legal drama The Escape Artist, written by David Wolstencroft, also picked up a nod as did the Doctor Who 50th Anniversary episode The Day Of The Doctor.

The categories in which David's projects were nominated are:
Original Television Music in 2014
  • Peaky Blinders   Martin Phipps
  • Top of the Lake   Mark Bradshaw
  • Luther   Paul Englishby
  • Broadchurch   ├ôlafur Arnalds

Production design in 2014
  • Peaky Blinders   Grant Montgomery
  • Ripper Street   Mark Geraghty
  • Burton and Taylor   John Stevenson
  • Broadchurch   Catrin Meredydd

Director – Fiction/Entertainment in 2014
  • Otto Bathurst   Peaky Blinders
  • Jane Campion, Garth Davis   Top of the Lake
  • James Strong   Broadchurch
  • Marc Munden   Utopia

Sound – Fiction in 2014
  • Peaky Blinders   Stuart Hilliker, Brian Milliken, Matthew Skelding, Lee Walpole
  • The Escape Artist   Chris Ashworth, Graham Headicar, Stuart Hilliker, Duncan Price
  • Luther   Howard Bargroff, Pete Gates, Mike Grimes, Emma Pegram
  • Dancing on the Edge   Adrian Bell, Lee Crichlow, Robert Farr, Ian Wilkinson

Special, Visual & Graphic Effects in 2014
  • Micro Monsters with David Attenborough: Predator   Robert Hollingworth, Jonathan Watts
  • David Attenborough’s Natural History Museum Alive 3D   Zoo, Fido
  • Peaky Blinders   Blue Bolt, Rushes
  • Doctor Who: The Day Of The Doctor   Milk VFX, Real SFX, The Model Unit

Editing – Fiction in 2014
  • An Adventure in Space and Time   Philip Kloss
  • Top of the Lake (Ep 6)   Alexandre De Franceschi
  • Broadchurch (Ep 8)   Mike Jones
  • The Fall   Steve Singleton

Writer – Drama in 2014
  • In the Flesh   Dominic Mitchell
  • Last Tango in Halifax   Sally Wainwright
  • Broadchurch   Chris Chibnall
  • Utopia   Dennis Kelly

The annual BAFTA Television Craft Awards honour the behind-the-scenes professionals in TV production and new media, with categories such as such as writing, make-up, editing, lighting and special effects.

The Arqiva British Academy Television Awards, which honour programmes and performances, will take place on Sunday 18 May 2014.