BAFTA Television Craft Awards 2014: Broadchurch, Doctor Who & The Escape Artist All Nominated

The nominations were announced this morning for the BAFTA Television Craft in 2014 Awards. A number of David Tennant's projects received recognition in the shortlists for the Awards which recognise the best behind-the-scenes talent from television and new media from the past year. 

Broadchurch proved itself to be firmly on BAFTA's radar this year with a total of five nominations, including Best Writer for Chris Chibnall, Best Director for James Strong and Best Original Music for ├ôlafur Arnalds. Tense legal drama The Escape Artist also picked up a nod as did the Doctor Who 50th Anniversary episode The Day Of The Doctor

The categories in which David's projects were nominated are:

Original Television Music in 2014
  • Peaky Blinders   Martin Phipps
  • Top of the Lake   Mark Bradshaw
  • Luther   Paul Englishby
  • Broadchurch   ├ôlafur Arnalds

Production design in 2014
  • Peaky Blinders   Grant Montgomery
  • Ripper Street   Mark Geraghty
  • Burton and Taylor   John Stevenson
  • Broadchurch   Catrin Meredydd

Director – Fiction/Entertainment in 2014
  • Otto Bathurst   Peaky Blinders
  • Jane Campion, Garth Davis   Top of the Lake
  • James Strong   Broadchurch
  • Marc Munden   Utopia

Sound – Fiction in 2014
  • Peaky Blinders   Stuart Hilliker, Brian Milliken, Matthew Skelding, Lee Walpole
  • The Escape Artist   Chris Ashworth, Graham Headicar, Stuart Hilliker, Duncan Price
  • Luther   Howard Bargroff, Pete Gates, Mike Grimes, Emma Pegram
  • Dancing on the Edge   Adrian Bell, Lee Crichlow, Robert Farr, Ian Wilkinson

Special, Visual & Graphic Effects in 2014
  • Micro Monsters with David Attenborough: Predator   Robert Hollingworth, Jonathan Watts
  • David Attenborough’s Natural History Museum Alive 3D   Zoo, Fido
  • Peaky Blinders   Blue Bolt, Rushes
  • Doctor Who: The Day Of The Doctor   Milk VFX, Real SFX, The Model Unit

Editing – Fiction in 2014
  • An Adventure in Space and Time   Philip Kloss
  • Top of the Lake (Ep 6)   Alexandre De Franceschi
  • Broadchurch (Ep 8)   Mike Jones
  • The Fall   Steve Singleton

Writer – Drama in 2014
  • In the Flesh   Dominic Mitchell
  • Last Tango in Halifax   Sally Wainwright
  • Broadchurch   Chris Chibnall
  • Utopia   Dennis Kelly

Click here for the full shortlist

The Awards in 2014 will take place on Sunday 27 April at The Brewery in East London and the ceremony will be hosted by Stephen Mangan.