David Tennant On His Passion For The Proclaimers And How They Provided The Soundtrack To His Life

The Daily Record and The Scotsman have reported on the sleevenotes written by David Tennant for The Very Best Of The Proclaimers album which was released on Monday.
In the notes David says that he has idolised the band, made up of twins Charlie and Craig, since he was a 16 year old "geeky music fan"
He recalls the first time he saw the band on the Channel 4 show music show The Tube:

“It was a surprising sight. I’d never seen anything like The Proclaimers. I’m not sure anyone had. Two blokes, with the same face and a guitar. Belting out a couple of tunes in thick, unashamed Scottish accents.
“Pop stars didn’t use their own voices to sing. It just wasn’t done. But not this pair.
“Here were songs about being Scottish, songs about car plants being closed down – Bathgate got a mention on Channel 4. In a song! I was born in Bathgate. I couldn’t believe this.”

David also jokes that the band didn't wear stage outfits like many of their 1980s contemporaries “It was like you couldn’t have a hit unless you were dressed as a camp pirate – not this couple. Sorry Craig, sorry Charlie but the Proclaimers have never been entirely cool. I am going to go out on a limb and suggest for that first appearance on The Tube, Craig and Charlie didn’t employ a stylist.”

But despite the lack of a glossy makeover David couldn't wait to rush out and get a copy of their album:

“At 16 disposable income is hard to come by but when I finally got my hands on that record, it didn’t just live up to expectations.
“There and then, as I played it over and over again, I fell in love with this music, and this odd, unstyled, unlikely duo with a passion that has never dimmed to this day.
“Nobody else sounds like the Proclaimers and nobody else writes songs like these.”

And David says The Proclaimers have provided the soundtrack to his life stating:

"Joyful Kilmarnock Blues was my teenage anthem, I walked down the aisle to Life With You, every great night out I have ever had has included I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles).
“These songs have been the soundtrack to my life. I only hope you can be so lucky.”

The brand new double compilation album by The Proclaimers is released in the UK today. The release contains 30 tracks hand-picked by Craig and Charlie Reid from their nine studio albums released over the last 25 years, including the brand new single Not Cynical.

You can order your copy here

The full track listing is:
01 Throw the R Away (2011 Remaster)
02 Life With You
03 I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles) (2011 Remaster)
04 Letter From America (2011 Remaster)
05 What Makes You Cry? (2011 Remaster)
06 Shadows Fall
07 Love Can Move Mountains
08 Role Model
09 Restless Soul
10 S-O-R-R-Y
11 I’m On My Way (2011 Remaster)
12 Spinning Around In The Air
13 Hate My Love
14 Not Cynical
15 Act Of Remembrance

16 In Recognition
17 There’s
18 I’m Gone
19 King Of The Road (2011 Remaster)
20 Just Look Now
21 Born Innocent
22 On Causewayside
23 Scotland’s Story
24 Sunshine On Leith (2011 Remaster)
25 Should Have Been Loved
26 Cap In Hand (2011 Remaster)
27 Let’s Get Married (2011 Remaster)
28 There’s A Touch
29 Joyful Kilmarnock Blues (2011 Remaster)
30 Oh Jean (2011 Remaster)