More Award Nominations For Twenty Twelve And Earthflight

Two programmes narrated by David Tennant, Twenty Twelve and Earthflight, have received nominations in the Royal Television Society Programme Awards 2012. 

The RTS Programme Awards honour excellence in key genres of television programming, from children's to drama, entertainment and soaps, to comedy performance and documentaries, covering both national and regional output. Held annually, they aim to recognise the work of exceptional actors, presenters, writers and production teams, as well as celebrating the programmes themselves. The winners will be announced by comedian, writer and actress Jo Brand at a ceremony on Tuesday 19th March at the Grosvenor House Hotel, London.

Earthflight, by John Downer Productions, used innovative camera techniques to obtain exceptional up-close footage of birds from all around the world. It is nominated in the Science and Natural History category:

Science and Natural History
  • Earthflight John Downer Productions for BBC One
  • Operation Iceberg BBC Productions for BBC Two
  • The Plane Crash Dragonfly Film and Television for Channel 4

Twenty Twelve, the spoof documentary series following the fictional Olympic Deliverance Committee in the run up to the 2012 London Games, is shortlisted in three categories: as Best Scripted Comedy plus nominations for writer John Morton and star Jessica Hynes.

Scripted Comedy
  • Alan Partridge: Welcome to the Places of my Life Baby Cow for Sky Atlantic HD
  • Fresh Meat Objective Productions for Channel 4
  • Twenty Twelve (Series 2) BBC Productions for BBC Two

Comedy Performance
  • Jessica Hynes - Twenty Twelve (Series 2) BBC Productions for BBC Two
  • Ruth Jones - Stella Tidy Productions for Sky 1 HD
  • Jack Whitehall - Fresh Meat Objective Productions for Channel 4

Writer - Comedy
  • Jo Brand, Vicki Pepperdine &  Joanna Scanlan - Getting On Vera Productions for BBC Four
  • John Morton - Twenty Twelve (Series 2) BBC Productions for BBC One
  • Writing Team - The Thick of It (Series 4) BBC Productions for BBC Two

Other nominations have gone to Olivia Colman for The Accused and to Steven Moffat for Sherlock.