This Is Jinsy Press Release

Sky Atlantic HD is thrilled to announce a host of guest stars that will make appearances across its first original comedy commission, This Is Jinsy, including David Tennant, Catherine Tate, Simon Callow, Harry Hill, Jennifer Saunders, and many more.

Directed by Matt Lipsey (Psychoville, Little Britain), This Is Jinsy is an eccentric eight-part comedy written by and starring newcomers Chris Bran and Justin Chubb. This Is Jinsy follows Arbiter Maven (Chubb) and Operative Sporall (Bran) as they keep a close eye on the 791 residents of Jinsy from the Great Tower in the parish of Veen. Life on the island is rather Orwellian: each colourful member of the community is monitored by a surveillance system of tessellators, from local folk dribbler Melody Lane to weather monk Tracee Henge.

Episode one will see a guest spot from David Tennant as Mr Slightlyman, a corrupt, camp wedding planner with bad plastic surgery. Harry Hill will also make his debut in this episode as the sinister Joon Boolay, who delivers punishments to residents across the island from the safety of her TV studio.

Jennifer Saunders will provide the Voice of Miss Reason, who each episode delivers island announcements.Roopina Crale, Chief Editor of ‘Glove Hygiene Monthly’, is played by Catherine Tate, who comes to Jinsy to interview Maven.Jane Horrocks is Mrs Stenton, the head teacher of The White Apron Play Group, with a peculiar attachment to a crow glove puppet. Simon Callow is Threcker, an officious, intense ex-teacher of Maven’s.Kevin Eldon guests as Edery Molt, an eco-warrior who halts construction of a bridge that Maven builds on Jinsy.Peter Serafinowicz plays conniving salesman Eric Bunt, who sports a slicked-down side parting and a cheap suit.Brian Murphy will play Melty Harris. He’s a posh, disorganised and slightly inebriated man who wears an ill-fitting suit and cravat. He has spent his life attempting to put together a map of Jinsy.This Is Jinsy will also feature Colin Hoult as Seebry Mungerton, Marek Larwood as Caravel Didd-Onion, Nigel Planer as Man With No Nameworm, Don Warrington plays Chief Thinker, KT Tunstall as Briiian Raggatan, and Marcia Warren as Mrs Oon, the lead singer of folk-thrash-band Mool Perpya.

Producers Chris Carey and James Dean said: “We have been overwhelmed by the calibre of support that This Is Jinsy has attracted. It's testament to the brilliant writing and extraordinary vision of Chris and Justin."The guest stars join series regulars Alice Lowe as Soosan Noop, Janine Duvitski as Mrs Goadion and Geoff McGivern as Trince.

This Is Jinsy is produced by James Dean and Chris Carey for The Welded Tandem Picture Company and was commissioned by Lucy Lumsden, Head of Comedy at Sky.

This Is Jinsy will air on Sky Atlantic HD and Sky Atlantic in September 2011.

Thanks to Jill Coleman.